Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Facts About Nigeria You Should Know


Nigeria is a country in Western Africa, with a land area of about 923,768 km2. It got her independence from the British in 1960 and has since then grown to be one of the most important countries in the world.

Today, you’ll learn about some facts about Nigeria such as the day of independence, the number of states, past military regimes and democratic administrations. Because the country continues to exist and also continues to grow, this post will be updated as needed.

Below is a list of facts about Nigeria:

  • Nigeria is in West Africa
  • Nigeria is abutted by about 6 countries — Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the southeast, and Benin in the west.
  • The Southern and Northern Protectorate were amalgamated in 1914
  • Nigeria got her independence in October 1, 1960
  • Nigeria became a republic in October 1, 1963
  • The Capital is Abuja
  • Abuja became the country capital in December 12, 1991
  • Nigeria has 36 states
  • The official language of Nigeria is English
  • The three (3) prominent local languages are Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba
  • The colours of the flag of Nigeria are white and green
  • The Nigerian flag was designed by Taiwo Akinkunmi in 1959
  • Nigeria’s motto is Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress

Recommended ReadingNigerian States and Their Years of Creation

  • Nigeria’s largest city is Lagos
  • The three (3) Arms of Government in Nigeria are the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary
  • The legislature runs on bi-camera (two house, that is), termed the Upper and Lower Chambers
  • The Upper Chamber is called the Senate while the Lower Chamber is called the House of Representative
  • The Supreme Court is the highest court while the Customary Court is the lowest
  • The Nigerian Currency is Naira
  • Nigerian driving system is the right hand side
  • The Nigerian international calling code is +234
  • Nigeria has both ethnic (over 250 ethnic groups) and religion (two prominent religions) diversity
  • The three major ethnic groups are Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba
  • The two major religions are Islam and Christianity
  • Nigeria has 774 Local Government Areas
  • Nigeria is the 12th largest oil producer in the world and the 8th largest exporter
  • Nigeria is home to River Niger, the largest river in Africa
  • Nigeria is the first country in Africa to win the Gold Medal in an Olympics
  • Nigeria has 6 Geopolitical Zones — North-Central, North-East, North-West, South-East, South-South, South-West.
  • The Nigerian military comprises the Nigeria Army (in charge of land warfare), the Nigerian Air Force (in charge of air combat) and the Nigerian Navy (in charge of the water warfare).
  • The first military coup in Nigeria was staged in January 15, 1966 by a group of Nigerian soldiers led by Kaduna Nzeogwu, Emmanuel Ifeajuna and Adewale Ademoyega.

These are some of the facts about Nigeria we think you should know about. Have questions or suggestions as to more fact to be added? You can make a comment below or use the contact page to get to us!

Recommended Reading: Meaning of Acronyms Relating to Nigeria

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to share this post with others. You can use the social media share buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.