Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

The 6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and Their States


source: www.researchgate.net

Nigeria has six (6) Geopolitical Zones and all the thirty-six (36) States of the Federation are grouped under these zones. These zones are not only based on the geography of the nation, but also in the classification of the ethnic groups. For instance, the Southwest are the Yorubas and the North are Hausas even though there are still different tribes in the Hausa, but they are closely related.

Below is a list of the six geopolitical zones and the states under them.

1. North East

There are 6 states in the North East, namely:

  1. Adamawa
  2. Bauchi
  3. Borno
  4. Gombe
  5. Taraba
  6. Yobe


2. North Central

The North Central is composed of six (6) states and the Federal Capital, Abuja. They are:

  1. Benue
  2. Kogi
  3. Kwara
  4. Niger
  5. Plateau
  6. Nasarawa
  • FCT Abuja

3. North West

The North West of the Nigerian Geopolitical zones comprises seven (7) states, which include:

  1. Jigawa
  2. Kaduna
  3. Kano
  4. Katsina
  5. Kebbi
  6. Sokoto
  7. Zamfara

4. South East

The South East has 5 states in it, including:

  1. Abia
  2. Anambra
  3. Ebonyi
  4. Enugu
  5. Imo

5. South South

The six (6) states in the South South are:

  1. Akwa Ibom
  2. Bayelsa
  3. Cross River
  4. Delta
  5. Edo
  6. Rivers

6. South West

The states in the South West are six (6). They are:

  1. Ekiti
  2. Lagos
  3. Ogun
  4. Ondo
  5. Osun
  6. Oyo

Those are the geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states contained in them.


  • Nigeria has 36 States
  • Nigeria has 6 geopolitical zones
  • The South West contains 6 states
  • The South South contains 6 states
  • The South East contains 5 states
  • The North West contain 7 states
  • The North Central contains 6 states and the Federal Capital, Abuja
  • The North East contains 6 states.

Thanks for reading. Drop your questions and comments in the comments section, will answer them as quickly as possible. Also, don’t forget to share this information with your others. Use the share buttons below.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.