Southern African Countries: List of Countries in Southern Africa

Countries in Southern Africa


Southern Africa, like Western and Eastern Africa, is a region on the African continent and is different from the country by the name of South Africa, which, although, is also on the southern part of Africa.

Southern Africa consists of five (5) countries. Although some other countries like Zimbabwe and Zambia are sometimes also regarded as part of the countries in the southern region, but they have been grouped under East African countries.

Here are the five Southern Africa countries.

1. Botswana
2. Lesotho
3. Namibia
4. South Africa
5. Swaziland


Official Name: Republic of Botswana
Capital: Gaborone
Independence: September 30, 1966

Botswana is topographically flat, with up to 70 percent of its territory being the Kalahari Desert. It is bordered by South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west and north, and Zimbabwe to the northeast.


Official Name: Kingdom of Lesotho
Capital: Maseru
Independence: October 4, 1966

Lesotho is an enclaved country within the border of South Africa. Lesotho is just over 30,000 km² (11,583 sq miles) in size and has a population of around 2 million.


Official Name: Republic of Namibia
Capital: Windhoek
Independence: March 21, 1990

Namibia, is a country in Southern Africa. Its western border is the Atlantic Ocean; it shares land borders with Zambia and Angola to the north, Botswana to the east and South Africa to the south and east.

Quick fact: Namibia gained independence from South Africa.

ALSO READ: North African Countries: List of Countries in North Africa

South Africa

Official Name: Republic of South Africa
Capital: Pretoria (Executive), Cape Town (Legislative), Bloemfontein (Judiciary)
Independence: May 31, 1961

South Africa is the southernmost country in Africa. It is bordered to the north by the neighbouring countries of Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe; and to the east and northeast by Mozambique and Swaziland.

Quick fact: South Africa is the largest country in Southern Africa and the 25th-largest country in the world by land area.


Official Name: Kingdom of Swaziland
Capital: Lobamba (royal and legislative) Mbabane (Administrative)
Independence: September 06, 1968

Swaziland is a landlocked country in Southern Africa . It is bordered by Mozambique to its northeast and South Africa to its north, west and south.

Southern Africa countries and their capitals

Botswana — Gaborone
Lesotho — Maseru
Namibia — Windhoek
South Africa — Pretoria (Executive), Cape Town (Legislative), Bloemfontein (Judiciary)
Swaziland — Mbabane

ALSO READ: What is the Function of the F-Keys?

These are the 5 countries in Southern African.

If you find it helpful, please share with others across all social media channels. You can use the share buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.