Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

West African Countries: List of Countries in West Africa


West African countries are the countries on the western region on the African continent. They have their years of independence very close.

Quick Fact: All countries in West Africa are members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) save for Mauritania, which withdrew from ECOWAS in 1999.

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cabo Verde
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Ivory Coast
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • The Gambia
  • Togo

Below is a brief information about the Western African countries:


Official Name: Republic of Benin

Capital: Porto-Novo

Independence: August 1, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

Benin is a country in West Africa, bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north.

Burkina Faso

Official Name: Republic of Burkina Faso

Capital: Ouagadougou

Independence: August 5, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in Western Africa. It is bordered by Mali to the north; Niger to the east; Benin to the southeast; Togo and Ghana to the south; and Ivory Coast to the southwest.

Cabo Verde

Official Name: Republic of Cabo Verde

Capital: Praia

Independence: July 5, 1975

Currency: Cabo Verdean Escudo (CVE)

Official language: Portuguese

Cabo Verde is a combination of 10 islands located 570 kilometres off the coast of West Africa in the central Atlantic Ocean, Cape Verde’s islands are historical of volcanic origin and most of them are rocky with vegetation.

The Country’s name used to be translated as Cape Verde until October 2013 when the Country announced that it no longer wants the translation; that it should be regarded as Cabo Verde.


Official Name: Republic of Ghana

Capital: Accra

Independence: March 6, 1957

Currency: Ghanaian Cedis (GHS)

Official language: English

Ghana is a country located along the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean, in the subregion of West Africa. Ghana is bordered by Ivory Coast in the west, Burkina Faso in the north, Togo in the east and the Gulf of Guinea and Atlantic Ocean in the south.


Official Name: Republic of Guinea

Capital: Conakry

Independence: October 2, 1958

Currency: Guinean Franc (GNF)

Official language: French

Guinea is a west-coastal country in Western Africa. The country is sometimes regarded as Guinea Conakry to distinguish it from Guinea Bissau and Equatorial Guinea.

READ ALSO: North African Countries: List of Countries in North Africa

Guinea Bissau

Official Name: Republic of Guinea Bissau

Capital: Bissau

Independence: September 24, 1973

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: Portuguese

Guinea-Bissau is a West African country bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Guinea and Senegal. It is usually rendered as Guinea Bissau to distinguish it from other Guinea countries like Equatorial Guinea and Guinea Conakry.

Ivory Coast

Official Name: Republic of Côte d’Ivoire

Capital: Yamoussoukro

Independence: August 7, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

Côte d’Ivoire is a West African country, which borders Guinea and Liberia to the west, Burkina Faso and Mali to the north, Ghana to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea (Atlantic Ocean) to the south.


Official Name: Republic of Liberia

Capital: Monrovia 

Independence: July 26, 1847

Currency: Liberian Dollar (LRD)

Official language: English

Liberia is another country in West Africa, bordered by Sierra Leone to the west, Guinea to the north and Ivory Coast to the east.


Official Name: Republic of Mali

Capital: Bamako

Independence: September 22, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

The Republic of Mali is a West African Country bordered by Niger to the east, Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire to the south, Guinea to the south-west, Senegal and Mauritania to the west and Algeria to the northeast.


Official Name: Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Capital: Nouakchott

Independence: November 28, 1960

Currency: Ouguiya (MRU)

Official language: Arabic

Mauritania is the eleventh largest sovereign state in Africa and is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Western Sahara to the north and northwest, Algeria to the northeast, Mali to the east and southeast, and Senegal to the southwest.


Official Name: Republic of the Niger

Capital: Niamey

Independence: August 3, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

Niger is a landlocked country in West Africa named after the Niger River. Niger is bordered by Libya to the northeast, Chad to the east, Nigeria to the south and Burkina Faso and Mali to the west.

READ ALSO: Free Blog Setup


Official Name: Federal Republic of Nigeria

Capital: Abuja

Independence: October 1, 1960

Currency: Naira (NGN)

Official language: English

Nigeria is a country West Africa, bordering Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west. Its coast in the south is located on the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean. 


Official Name: Republic of Senegal

Capital: Dakar

Independence: April 4, 1960

Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)

Official language: French

Senegal is a country in West African country bordered by Mauritania in the north, Mali to the east, Guinea to the southeast, and Guinea-Bissau to the southwest.

Sierra Leone

Official Name: Sierra Leone

Capital: Freetown

Independence: April 27, 1961

Currency: Leone (SLL)

Official language: English

Republic of Sierra Leone, informally Salone is a country on the southwest coast of West Africa. It is bordered by Liberia to the southeast and Guinea to the northeast.

The Gambia

Official Name: Republic of the Gambia

Capital: Banjul

Independence: February 18, 1965

Currency: Dalasi (GMD)

Official language: English

The Gambia is a country in Western Africa that is almost entirely surrounded by Senegal with the exception of its western coastline along the Atlantic Ocean. The Gambia is the smallest country within mainland Africa.


Official Name: Togolese Republic

Capital: Lome

Independence: April 27, 1960

Official language: French

Togo is a West African country. It is bordered by Ghana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north.

West African Countries and Their Capitals

Benin — Port Novo

Burkina Faso — Ouagadougou

Cabo Verde — Praia 

Ghana — Accra

Guinea — Conakry

Guinea Bissau — Bissau

Ivory Coast — Yamoussoukro

Liberia — Monrovia

Mali — Bamako

Mauritania — Nouakchott

Niger — Niamey

Nigeria — Abuja

Senegal — Dakar

Sierra Leone — Freetown

The Gambia — Banjul

Togo — Lome

This is the list of West African countries. There’s a list of North African countries on the blog. Go read it.

Don’t forget to share this post with others. You can share it across social media channels using the share buttons below.




Image Source: LibGuides

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.